Vic EPA appoints first Chief Investigator

Tuesday, 02 November, 2021

Vic EPA appoints first Chief Investigator

The Environment Protection Authority Victoria has appointed Ernestina Di Marco as its first Chief Investigator.

Ernestina Di Marco will lead 40 investigators based across the state as part of the new Environmental Crime Branch. The Branch includes surveillance experts, environmental protection officers, intelligence analysts, criminal investigators and prosecutors who will work together to detect, prevent and investigate environmental crime.

The role is part of the new EPA structure which has just come into effect — creating greater efficiency and effectiveness. Under the structure the EPA has 759 roles, more than double the number of just six years ago.

Di Marco has 19 years’ experience in national investigations and intelligence operations with the Australian Federal Police (AFP) and the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC).

Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio said, “Fighting waste crime is critical to keeping the environment and community safe from pollution. I am delighted that such an accomplished investigator will be leading the authority’s efforts in tackling non-compliance.”

Di Marco joins EPA from Emergency Management Victoria where she is currently the Manager of the Cross Border and Preparedness Unit. “I am thrilled to be joining the Environmental Crime Branch at such an exciting time and I look forward to working collaboratively with our partners to drive continuous improvement across waste crime disruption and prevention,” she said.

Environment Protection Agency CEO Lee Miezis said Ernestina’s appointment creates a stronger EPA. “She will lead a bolstered frontline across Victoria, dedicated to preventing harm to the environment and community from pollution and waste, and taking swift action when environmental laws are broken.”

Image credit: ©

Related News

Professor Veena Sahajwalla named Australian of the Year NSW in 2022

UNSW SMaRT Centre Director and microrecycling scientist Professor Veena Sahajwalla has been named...

REDcycle partners with iQ Renew to boost soft plastic recovery

The partnership of REDcycle and iQ Renew will help to transform the resource recovery of plastic...

CEFC green hydrogen funds to fuel zero-emission truck project

CEFC's first investment under the Advancing Hydrogen Fund will help develop a local hydrogen...

  • All content Copyright © 2021 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd