Sustainability > Awards

Simple solution wins prestigious environmental engineering award

01 December, 2012

GHD and Auckland Transport are the winners of the 2012 Engineering Excellence Award for Excellence in Environmental Practice for their ‘TetraTrap’ design. The TetraTrap is a simple catchpit filter which prevents the flow of road pollutants to Auckland’s waterways and harbour via the stormwater system.

Sydney’s green efforts win global recognition

30 November, 2012

The City of Sydney has won a silver award in the most sustainable government category of the renowned International Green Awards for its vision, innovation and advocacy in areas including energy, water, waste and transport.

Villa Maria Estate captures big prize at NZI National Sustainable Business Network awards

23 November, 2012

Auckland’s Villa Maria Estate has been named Sustainable Business of the Year at the NZI National Sustainable Business Network Awards announced yesterday.

AWRE Innovation Awards finalists announced

16 November, 2012

The Australasian Waste & Recycling Expo Innovation Awards are being held on Wednesday 21 November at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and are set to reward forward thinking waste and recycling innovations.

Five Australian organisations recognised as global leaders in sustainability

16 November, 2012

Five Australian organisations have been announced as finalists in the prestigious International Green Awards, which will be presented in London on 20 November.

Target 100 wins Origin Gold Banksia Award

15 November, 2012

Energy provider Origin, major sponsor of the Banksia Environmental Foundation’s Gold Banksia Award, has announced the 2012 Gold Award winner as Meat and Livestock Australia’s Target 100 initiative.

Crystals that trap pollution win at Tall Poppies

14 November, 2012

CSIRO mathematician Dr Aaron Thornton was named a 2012 Victorian Young Tall Poppy last night in recognition of his work in carbon dioxide and molecular gas research.

LNG researcher wins PM’s science prize

01 November, 2012

A leading researcher who is helping to make the nation’s vast reserves of liquefied natural gas (LNG) an even cleaner fuel is among five winners of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science announced yesterday in Canberra.

Eversons Food Processors wins 2012 Prime Minister’s Water Wise Award

29 October, 2012

Senator Don Farrell, Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water, has congratulated Macleay River Meats - trading as Eversons Food Processors - on winning the 2012 Prime Minister’s Water Wise Award.

Sodium-ion battery researcher awarded Indian Fellowship

26 October, 2012

Dr Manickam Minakshi has received an Early Career Australia-India Fellowship from the Australian Academy of Science, only two months after revealing his work on a sodium-ion battery.

Get voting online for your favourite sustainable business

17 October, 2012

New Zealand’s Sustainable Business Network (SBN) is urging everyone to vote for their favourite sustainability initiative to choose this year’s Vodafone People’s Choice Award winner in the NZI National Sustainable Business Network Awards.

Christchurch Civic Building wins 2012 Supreme Concrete3 Sustainability Award

17 October, 2012

Athfield Architects has taken out the 2012 Supreme Concrete3 Sustainability Award for its extensive refurbishment of the new Christchurch Civic Building on Hereford Street.

Romilly Madew named an Australian ‘woman of influence’

17 October, 2012

The Green Building Council of Australia’s Chief Executive, Romilly Madew, has been named one of ‘100 Women of Influence’.

Energy-efficient ‘enlightened’ innovator wins Cleantech Competition 2012

09 October, 2012

A low-cost LED lighting design which provides energy savings of up to 93% has won the 2012 Australian Clean Technologies (Cleantech) Competition.

Spotless announced as finalist in 2012 Banksia Environmental Foundation annual awards

05 October, 2012

Catering, cleaning and facilities manager Spotless has been named as a finalist in the prestigious 2012 Banksia Environmental Foundation awards in the category of ‘Leading in Sustainability & Setting the Standard in Large Organisations’.

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd