Professor Veena Sahajwalla appointed to Climate Commission

Thursday, 17 May, 2012

The Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, has announced the appointment of Professor Veena Sahajwalla to the Climate Commission.

Professor Sahajwalla is an award-winning scientist and engineer, whose achievements include inventing a process of recycling plastics and rubber tyres in steelmaking. The benefits of this technology for Australian steelmaking include reduced energy use, which means lower greenhouse gas emissions.

Combet said: “Professor Sahajwalla has conducted world-leading research in collaboration with major resources companies in Australia. Professor Sahajwalla’s understanding of Australian industries, together with her expertise in science communication, will be valuable additions to the Climate Commission.”

Professor Sahajwalla replaces Dr Susannah Eliott, who has stepped down from her role as a Climate Commissioner due to an increase in her other professional commitments with the Australian Science Media Centre. Combet thanked Dr Eliott for contributing her expertise in science communication to the work of the Commission.

Professor Sahajwalla is Associate Dean (Strategic Industry Relations) of the UNSW Faculty of Science and Director of the Centre for Sustainable Materials Research and Technology. She has substantial research and development expertise in the fields of energy efficiency, sustainable materials and recycling.

Professor Sahajwalla received the 2011 National Nokia Business Innovation Award at the Telstra Business Women’s Awards. She has been a judge on the ABC TV program The New Inventors and was an invited speaker at TEDxSydney 2011.

She will become one of six members of the Climate Commission, which was established in early 2011 to provide information and expert advice to the government and the Australian public.

The independent Commission is led by Professor Tim Flannery, one of Australia's leading writers on climate change and an internationally recognised scientist and conservationist. 

Related News

2023 Premier's Sustainability Awards winners announced

The organisations and individuals leading positive environmental and social change across...

AFIA International Climate Change Scholarship winner announced

AFIA has announced Louis Edwards, Head of Renewable Energy Finance at Plenti, as the winner of...

Reducing energy and water use in oil refining with AI

A polymer membrane created by researchers could reshape how refineries process crude oil,...

  • All content Copyright © 2023 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd