Charging energy resilience against extreme weather in Vic

Friday, 21 October, 2022

Charging energy resilience against extreme weather in Vic

Victorian Minister for Energy Lily D’Ambrosio has announced $7.5 million for crucial back-up power systems in 24 towns hit by major storms in 2021 — including batteries and rooftop solar on community buildings.

The energy systems will provide power to community hubs when damage to the network causes a widespread outage, allowing residents to shower, heat food and charge devices.

The government identified 24 towns and will now begin to work with energy providers, local governments and emergency services organisations to deliver the new energy solutions.

Work is also underway to secure communities at risk of outages caused by bushfires, after the 2019–20 fires left areas in East Gippsland disconnected from the state’s grid. Through the Community Microgrids and Sustainable Energy Program, Victoria is funding new energy-resilient infrastructure with AusNet.

The Labor Government is also investing $9.8 million to deploy a mix of solar panels, batteries, heat pumps and generators to the three towns — Mallacoota, Omeo and Corryong.

The microgrids will enable the provision of crucial back-up power in the event of a power outage caused by a bushfire.

New state targets

In other news for the state, Victoria has released new emissions reduction targets. It has committed to reduce emissions by 75 to 80% (on 2005 levels) by 2035 and net zero by 2045. Its targets also include a renewables target of 95% by 2035.

Image credit:

Related News

Bright future for women in solar

Brighte, exclusive administrator of the $50m Energy Saver Loan Scheme, has announced the two...

Exploring the impact of climate change on solar PV

With solar set to become one of the largest renewable energy sources by 2026, UNSW...

Hydrogen Summit coming to Brisbane in September

More than 3000 industry leaders and 150 exhibitors will gather to showcase the latest technology,...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd