Low Carbon Australia and Climate Change Authority appointments

Tuesday, 29 May, 2012

The Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency, Greg Combet, has announced that the Hon Mike Rann has been appointed to the Board of Low Carbon Australia. The company was established by the Australian government to assist businesses, public sector organisations and consumers improve energy efficiency, reduce emissions and identify carbon neutral goods and services.

Rann is a member of the International Leadership Council, The Climate Group (UK) and the International Advisory Board, Ecological Sequestration Trust (UK). He brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to Low Carbon Australia, complementing current Board members. He will formally be elected as Chair of the Board at its June 2012 meeting.

“As Premier of South Australia, Mike Rann championed innovation in the renewable energy sector including wind, hot rock and solar power,” Combet said.

“Low Carbon Australia will continue to partner with businesses, the public sector and local communities to overcome barriers and realise energy-efficiency opportunities.”

The government is also pleased to announce it will appoint Anthea Harris as the Chief Executive Officer of the new Climate Change Authority, which will be an independent statutory authority based in Melbourne with Bernie Fraser as Chair.

Harris is currently a Chief Advisor for the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency and brings a wealth of knowledge on the economics of climate change from both the private and public sectors.

Related News

Perth tops Australian cities in global sustainability ranking

Arcadis has shared the results of its most recent Sustainable Cities Index, revealing a pressing...

Concerning increase in nitrous oxide emissions

Human-induced nitrous oxide emissions have increased by 40% in the past 40 years, an...

Peak waste group criticises Qld Budget

The Waste Management and Resource Recovery Association of Australia has highlighted several...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd