Leading Australian experts recognised at National Water Awards

Wednesday, 16 May, 2012

Leaders in the Australian water industry were recognised at the National Water Awards, hosted by the Australian Water Association (AWA) during Ozwater, Australia’s leading water conference and exhibition. The awards were presented at the Gala Dinner, attended by over a thousand guests to help recognise excellence in the sector.

AWA CEO Tom Mollenkopf commended the high standard of entries for this year’s awards and stated that the genuine commitment shown by the finalists in water leadership and management is acknowledged by their nomination to the awards.

“The AWA National Water Awards recognise the important work done by organisations and individuals to ensure Australia’s water industry continues to lead globally in skills, expertise, innovation and knowledge.

“The AWA Awards program is now in its 50th year and, from the calibre of nominations received this year, it is no doubt getting better with age. This year’s outstanding nominations and winners are evidence of the talent and the important and exciting achievements in our sector.

“These individuals and organisations demonstrate the innovation, courage, leadership and outstanding achievement that is needed to meet our nation’s water needs in the decades to come. Australia has an outstanding reputation for its capability in sustainable water management and the winners are proof that this reputation is well deserved,” said Mollenkopf.

All nominees were subject to a rigorous process by a panel of experts before the final winners were decided. The list of winners can be found below.

Student awards

Australian Stockholm Junior Water Prize: I-Ji Jung, Queensland Academy of Health Sciences

AWA Undergraduate Water Prize: Ronnie Ling, Augusta Lane, Ian Usher and Catriona Murphy, University of Adelaide

Individual awards

AWA Water Professional of the Year Award: Bruce Anderson, Goulburn Valley Water

AWA Water Industry Woman of the Year: Dr Deborah Pritchard, Curtin University

AWA Young Water Professional of the Year: Kelly O’Halloran, Allconnex Water

Organisational awards

AWA Program Innovation Award: City West Water, Steam System Efficiency Program

AWA Infrastructure Project Innovation Award: Water Corporation, Calcite for pH and Alkalinity Correction

Water Industry Safety Excellence Award: Water Infrastructure Group, Rehabilitation of the Bondi Ocean Outfall Sewer

Best Ozwater presentations

AWA Award for Best Ozwater ’12 Paper: Lynne Powell, Indigenous Partnerships - Opportunities and Obstacles

AWA Award for Best Ozwater ’12 Poster: Peter Haylock, Advanced Water Treatment Plant for Midcoast Water

Related News

Perth tops Australian cities in global sustainability ranking

Arcadis has shared the results of its most recent Sustainable Cities Index, revealing a pressing...

Concerning increase in nitrous oxide emissions

Human-induced nitrous oxide emissions have increased by 40% in the past 40 years, an...

Peak waste group criticises Qld Budget

The Waste Management and Resource Recovery Association of Australia has highlighted several...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd