ARENA CEO reappointed for three years

Wednesday, 20 December, 2023

ARENA CEO reappointed for three years

The Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) has welcomed the announcement by the Minister for Climate Change and Energy, the Hon Chris Bowen MP, of the reappointment of Darren Miller as ARENA CEO for a further three years.

Since starting at ARENA in 2018, Miller has overseen significant growth for the Agency, culminating in a renewed commitment and sense of urgency to increase the uptake of renewable energy to achieve net zero by 2050.

In the last financial year, $540 million was committed to 60 projects, representing the largest amount of funding ever committed by ARENA and highlighting the importance of the public and private funding model that has been working for over a decade.

Justin Punch, ARENA Chair, has also welcomed the appointment of Miller.

“He conceived and brought to reality ARENA’s solar 30-30-30 program focusing on ultra-low-cost solar, and under his leadership the agency has executed transformational large-scale battery programs, pushed into hard-to-abate industrial sectors, and designed and launched the government’s $2 billion Hydrogen Headstart program, amongst many other initiatives,” Punch said, speaking about Miller.

“His reappointment will provide much needed stability as ARENA helps Australia successfully execute this next vital stage of its energy transition.”

Darren Miller, Arena CEO, said, “I am honoured to be reappointed as ARENA’s CEO for a further three years following the end of my current term next year. We’ve made a lot of progress over the past five years since I’ve been at ARENA; however, there is still much to do on the journey to net zero and I remain passionate and committed to our work.

“ARENA’s success wouldn’t have happened without the skilled and committed team at ARENA. They work hard to ensure funding goes towards the most promising technologies and projects throughout Australia and share that knowledge to help accelerate the energy transition.

“I’d like to thank the Australian Government and the ARENA Board for their support and confidence.”

Miller’s third three-year term commences on 27 August 2024.

Image caption: ARENA CEO Darren Miller.

Related News

Virus-detection pioneer wins Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize

The 2024 prize has been awarded to Professor Gertjan Medema in recognition of his breakthrough...

AOG Energy rebrands to Energy Exchange Australia

During its more than 40-year history, AOG Energy had garnered a reputation as a significant event...

Concerning increase in nitrous oxide emissions

Human-induced nitrous oxide emissions have increased by 40% in the past 40 years, an...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd