AFIA International Climate Change Scholarship winner announced

Wednesday, 15 November, 2023

AFIA International Climate Change Scholarship winner announced

The Australian Finance Industry Association (AFIA) has announced Louis Edwards, Head of Renewable Energy Finance at Plenti, as the winner of the AFIA International Climate Change Scholarship.

Announced at The Affies, AFIA’s annual gala dinner, the award highlights the organisation’s commitment to nurturing leaders who will guide Australia’s low-carbon transition.

Edwards was compelled to pursue the scholarship due to the complex challenges of climate change. He has seen the power of innovative financing for renewable energy at Plenti and aims to expand his impact by gaining a deeper understanding of the issues faced.

“My aim is to foster product innovation, making renewable energy more accessible and affordable, driving change not only within Plenti but across the industry,” he said. He aspires to influence policy and contribute to the widespread adoption of renewable technologies.

AFIA CEO Diane Tate spoke on the importance of the scholarship. She said the finance industry is a key player in working with governments, businesses and communities in tackling the challenges associated with climate change. The aim of the scholarship is to cultivate leaders who can create sustainable financial products, services and technologies, driving strategies, research and innovation in line with environmental sustainability.

According to Tate, the scholarship has an international aspect because climate change is a global issue requiring cross-jurisdictional collaboration. The scholarship could be a platform for sharing international best practices and staying ahead of global financial trends.

The AFIA scholarship provides a course at the London School of Economics and Political Science, addressing the political, economic and governance aspects of climate change.

Applications for the scholarship were exceptionally strong, meeting strict criteria that ensured only candidates with a demonstrated deep commitment to sustainability and a significant strategic influence within their organisation were selected.

Related News

Virus-detection pioneer wins Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize

The 2024 prize has been awarded to Professor Gertjan Medema in recognition of his breakthrough...

AOG Energy rebrands to Energy Exchange Australia

During its more than 40-year history, AOG Energy had garnered a reputation as a significant event...

Concerning increase in nitrous oxide emissions

Human-induced nitrous oxide emissions have increased by 40% in the past 40 years, an...

  • All content Copyright © 2024 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd