2018 Green Globe Awards nominations now open

Wednesday, 18 April, 2018

2018 Green Globe Awards nominations now open

NSW Environment Minister Gabrielle Upton has opened nominations for the 19th annual Green Globe Awards, celebrating the people and projects making real progress towards sustainability in the state.

“The Green Globe Awards are a fantastic way to showcase the sustainability leaders who are inspiring environmental action and making a real difference in our communities,” Upton said.

The awards invite a diverse range of entries across 10 different categories, recognising sustainability in every sector — from fashion to food, the built environment to biodiversity, multinational companies to tiny social enterprises:

  • Built Environment Award
  • Business Leadership Award
  • Climate Change Leadership Award
  • Community Leadership Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Natural Environment Award
  • Public Sector Leadership Award
  • Resource Efficiency Award
  • Sustainability Champion Award
  • Young Sustainability Champion Award

“Last year we saw amazing finalists — from microbreweries to floating solar farms, from sustainable food education initiatives to seaweed research,” Upton said.

One such finalist was Anna Jane Linke, the winner of the 2017 Young Sustainability Champion Award, who said it was “such an exhilarating feeling” to win a Green Globe Award.

“Being amongst so many people pushing the boundaries and doing things that they are really passionate about is really important,” Linke said.

Luke Menzel, lead chair of the Green Globe Awards judging panel, said the judges are impressed every year by the high standard of applications.

“The energy and enthusiasm we see in Green Globe Award candidates is always inspiring, and we’re looking forward to another great showing in 2018,” Menzel said.

“I really encourage everyone to nominate leading sustainability initiatives out there — whether you’re a tiny social enterprise or a large organisation and everyone in between,” Upton concluded.

Nominations are open until 5 pm on 8 June, with the awards set to be presented at a gala night on 4 October. For more information and to nominate yourself or others, visit the awards website.

Image credit: ©stock.adobe.com/au/vege

Related News

Sustainable food and land use project launched

A new initiative aimed at developing a roadmap for a sustainable food and land use system for...

Minister for Cities joins Smart Cities Week

Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population Alan Tudge will share his vision for...

Qld Premier among inaugural bioenergy award winners

Four innovative bioenergy projects and Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk have received top...

  • All content Copyright © 2018 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd